Just starting out in REI

11 Replies

I’m just starting out in rei, I like the idea of turnkey for my first couple of rentals and then getting into buying cheap and rehabing them and then renting. I’m just looking for any guidance, or advice anyone might have. Thank you!

I think that's a perfect reason to start with turnkey-- to learn the basics and the fundamentals so you can later do more advanced stuff and have a better chance at excelling with it. 

So much so, I wrote an article about it!

https://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/turnkeys-...

Where do you live now? And what's your budget for a turnkey? Lots of opportunities but all with varying price points.

That is a great way to start Jonathan. I started that way and Ali sent you the article that she wrote about it. It will allow you to learn more while you are also owning a property and generating cash flow. That markets have you looked at? 

I will tell you this much--if you're going to BRRRR, you better have a good contractor that knows what they're doing by your side. There is so much that goes into rehabbing a property that these ridiculous tv shows don't tell you at all. Just understand that something WILL go wrong with just about every property lol. If you're able to weather the stupid stuff that happens, you'll make it. Prepare yourself for a rollercoaster ride my friend. In the end, it's SO worth it though.

@Ali Boone I live in northeast Arkansas. There’s a small market here. My cap is 40k. But I could go a little higher if the return is worth it. I have a family of 8! Me and my wife and our 6 kids. I ultimately want to get into rei because I’m tired of not being able to do anything with my kids. I don’t want them to just go to school and come home and do nothing else, I want to be able to provide a great childhood for them.
Originally posted by @Jonathan Ahle :