What does diversification look like for real estate investors?

52 Replies

We hear so much about how we should Diversify our money and portfolios. Yet most of us here on BP beat to a different drum. We don’t depend solely on a work 401k or pension plan to be our saving grace when we are 65. We take our retirements into our own hands, and most of us don’t depend on Government to take care of us. This all being said, what the heck does being diversified look like for Real Estate investors like ourselves? What are you doing to stay diversified, or are you even diversified at all? This is a big question, so I’d love to hear various sides on this. Thanks everybody, I love having the opportunity to have conversations like this with smart people like you!

I'm still new to REI and looking to grow, so by no means am I an expert yet.. I only have 2 rental properties at the moment with a third under contract.

I'd imagine diversification looks like having different types of deals - Multi-family, single family, partner deals where you may split risk, etc... 

Then I've also read that it could be considered diversification if you end up changing up markets once you've got your feet wet (at least 5-10 rentals in one area) to help balance any risk if one location suffers and the bottom falls out.

@Will Gates That makes sense. Im wondering if anyone is doing some kind of stock market/other form of diversification. Most of us are in real estate because of the power of leverage and cash flow. Does that power outweigh any investment outside of Real Estate? Even though we know we can likely get better returns and control over our money, should we still invest in the stock market for a balance? I’m honestly really torn on this.