is it conflict of interest to use contractors architect?

9 Replies

@Matthew Meizis

It happens from time to time. From an owner's perspective, it's not favorable since you want the architect to be on your side when there are issues down the line. This is especially true under the AIA system that gives the architect a lot of power. 

Disclaimer: While I’m an attorney licensed to practice in PA, I’m not your attorney. What I wrote above does not create an attorney/client relationship between us. I wrote the above for informational purposes. Do not rely on it for legal advice. Always consult with your attorney before you rely on the above information.

@Matthew Meizis , As an architect, I would only recommend contractors to clients. Ultimately it's up to them to make a selection or bring other contractors to the table. I would insist that client/property owner to contract directly with contractor not through me. I would not want to be held responsible or worst, liable, for the actions or performance of the contractor. As @Chris K. said, we are there to ensure the property owner's project gets completed the way they've intended. Therefore we look out for their best interest as well as the help, safety and welfare of the public/anyone whom will utilize the space(s).  

Unless I have a working relationship with a Contractor, I would not take well being managed by an outside contractor. This would be a conflict of interest for sure but it depends on how the scope/design is contracted. This Contractor-Architect relationship would be commonplace if the client was expecting a Design-Build type of project delivery. Then certain parameters need to be look at as an owner. There are pros and cons for this approach and yes the Contractor and Architect would be on the same team and work in tandem.