Why isn't the design aspect of REI discussed more often?

9 Replies

I've listened to several podcasts, browsed the forums and read some of the books, but I've yet to find any real emphasis or discussion about the design aspect of real estate investing. It's true I'm a complete novice, but it seems like smart, economical, quality design should be a talking point whenever rehab or house appreciation is discussed. I'm curious to know why it isn't.

In David Greene's BRRRR book, he does outline a few house hacks, but those are mainly just tips to save money on materials not how to create a beautiful space that has sellers and renters knocking down the door begging to place an offer. Call me crazy, but my guess is that many real estate investors don't specialize in interior design which is why I'm curious to know why there isn't more discussion about design resources and adding a designer to your investment team.

I'd love to hear your thoughts, suggestions and if I completely missed some article, blog post or forum topic that talks about this very subject, please pass it along. 

design is subjective. So the more personalized you make something, the higher potential to disuade potential buyers/renters as to entice them. 

For rentals, when you have a small one person operation who doesn't know anything about design, there is no possible return on investment for hiring it out.

Lots of flippers use designers and staging companies becuase there is a higher return on the sell side than the rent side. 

Also, real estate is mostly dudes, what do us brutes know about making things look nice? ;) 

overall I think there is potential in putting time and effort into good design if you have that skillset alreay. If you don't it's I can't see it being something that will ever have a high enough ROI that would warrant spending time on it versus spending time learning how to properly underwrite, find deals, etc