Rental Property - Downpayment vs Cashflow?

11 Replies

Hey guys!

I'm a newbie out of West Michigan, been listening to podcasts, watching webinars & reading the blogs and forums trying to learn as much as possible as I begin my investing career.

I'll introduce myself & my situation in the appropriate forum, but I do have a question for the buy & hold crowd-

What % of the purchase price do you target on for your downpayment when analyzing deals for cashflow? I know other metrics like ROI and CoCR need to be accounted for too, but obviously the higher the downpayment, the higher the cashflow. I see Brandon Turner uses 20%, which is the general minimum for bank financing, how about the rest of you?

Would you drop 25, 30 or even 40% to get a property cashflowing where you wanted it, in that $100-200 per unit range if the other metrics worked out?

I'll add, I'm still working on getting my first deal, I don't want to get stuck in "analysis paralysis" mode, but I also dont want to rush in and make any huge mistakes either. I'm sure I'll learn a ton from my first deal when it is said and done. I'm still very curious to know how much you guys flex on that downpayment.

Thanks!

Andrew

@Andrew Russell   Many people put 20% down as it allows you to invest in other properties.  One caveat is it depends on the price of the home.  Paying cash on a $50K home vs a $250K home are very different.  What is the market like that you are looking in?  Where I am, there are no homes (including condos) under $130K.

If it's your first house you shouldn't need to put more down than 20%. In some cases you can cash flow with 3.5% down for an FHA loan. The main thing is make sure the rents in the area make it worth your while to buy. If a house rents for only 1000 a month and your mortgage is 900 it probably isn't going to be worth it.

Run those numbers multiple times.  And don't forget to account for things that need replacing like roof, ac, furnace, water heater, etc.