Is my mortgage broker lying to me?

3 Replies

I am in the process of negotiating for a house right now. The 4 bedroom house costs $218,000 (St. Louis, MO). The seller has agreed to give me $8000 credit to pay for repair for the house.

My mortgage broker told me that the lender will no longer give me $218,000 loan but instead will give me a $210,000 loan because of the credit.

He said to get around this, I should write in the contract that the seller will pay the $8000 credit towards the CLOSING COST. Then the mortgage broker will write me a check for $8,000.

This way I can get the loan for the full $218,000. Is this true???

I am a mortgage consultant, and it certainly sounds off that your mortgage broker wants to write you a check for $8000. The easiest way to get that $8000 is to do it as a seller consession, most lenders allow 3-6% towards closing costs. If you do it as a credit for repair of the property that will raise questions with the lender about the condition and marketability of their collateral. An added benefit of putting it towards closing costs it that it will reduce the amount of money that you will need to bring to closing, and you can use that savings at the closing table to make the repairs.

David Spencer
Mortgage Consultant
570-412-4438 Phone

Molarband, be leery of mortgage folks like this! If you want, lay out your scenario. I'll give you free advice of what's the best step to take "if I were you." I've signed 14 loan documents myself on real estate. I understand what it's like to go through this.

I'm part of another mortgage blog on the net, and a lot of people have been helped with my advice.

So, if you still needing help in structuring this deal, lay out your FICO's, deal, etc. then I can direct you to what's the best option.

Thanks,

Jeff

Molarband,