Converting primary residence to an investment property

14 Replies

Hi guys,

Newbie here looking for guidance to do this right since there is so much info out there...

I bought a condo as a primary residence, lived in it for the 12 months required by the mortgage company, and now have a tenant moving in in February.

I wanted to contact my lender to inform them I am renting the property out now so they have it on file. I know I have to contact my home insurance company as well.

What I am confused about is collected rent. I am going to collect the rent electronically, but I am wondering whether I need to open a separate bank accounf to collect or can I collect in my personal account?

Also, the tenant gave me the security deposit and I put it in my personal account... do I need to put that in a separate account as well? The condo is in Ormond Beach, FL if that helps.

Any info provided here will be a great help. Additional info I should know in addition to the answer to my question is also appreciated. Thanks all!

Yes to what Aaron said. Using a personal account isn't a problem if the property is in your name or an LLC treated as a passthrough entity, but if you do make sure you keep accurate accounts of the incomes and expenditures associated with your property.

To be on the safe side I would move the deposit into a separate account. One without any interest. Does your current account have interest? Then you have to account for the deposit's share!

@Darius Ogloza technically you are wrong about that. The bank has financial interest in the property, not sure how you can say it’s none of their business. They lent the money on premise of it being owner occupied and soon it will not be, which is more risk.

I do agree however that it should be just left as is and just carry on with what you want to do. Just pay your mortgage on time and make sure you have proper insurance on it in case the tenants burn it down.

Goodluck!