Need help with Locations . . . why so cheap?

8 Replies

I am new to investing and just formed my LLC - i am considering starting off with 4 properties - i have been looking at really cheap properties in Rochester, Utica, Albany and Saracuse in New York and Fort Wayne in Indiana - has anyone dabbled in those markets? I would like to start off with something there but not sure why these prices are so low. H E L P.

It is best not to dabble at all. REI is a serious business like any other business. It is MUCH easier to run a business if it is close to home. You didn't say what area of REI you are interested in, but it is difficult and expensive to manage rentals or manage contractors for rehabs long distance. In fact, it can be a nightmare. I know that because I see out-of-state (primarily California) investors buying rentals here in Ohio all the time. Almost without exception, they fail in a short period of time because they didn't know the market; didn't have a good property manager; didn't understand cash flow issues; and ended up losing their rear.

Of course, that's good for me, because it gives me a steady source of properties to buy for pennies on the dollar.

I'd suggest investing close to home. If your market is terrible and you REALLY want to invest, then moving might be the answer. Almost all of "flyover country" is a great place to invest.

Good Luck,

What do you mean by the prices are so low? Price is all market driven so I can't really say if the price is low without knowing the market and the specific property. That said there are some markets that are easier to find cashflow properties in than others.