How much does the age of the house matter

6 Replies

I am new to real estate. I plan to purchase a property from where I am right now, and live there myself for ~2 years while finishing my degree. After ~2 years, when I am ready to leave here, I hope to leave this place as a rental or Airbnb investment. I found a property that looks good in many aspects. However, the building itself was built in 1945. For real estate investment, how much does the age of the house matter, is this a horribly hold house? and how should I take into consideration the age of the house in general?

Thank you very much for any input!

That depends very much on your market.  In my county, there are a ton of older homes and hardly any newer construction, so age isn't as big a factor as it is in, say Orlando, where there's a ton of less than 10 year old houses.

Even a county over in Hillsborough, there are a TON of new builds, so even a 4 year old house has lost value.  While in historic St Pete, 20 miles away, there are million dollar 3/2s built in the 20s.

Sorry, that's the polar opposite of my market!  It looks like most of your homes are older, too.  From the little I know of Ann Arbor, I think that's kind of the charm of the town.

If you aren't working with a Realtor, you can find one that's knowledgeable and ask them, too.  

A quick Google search found this from 2014: https://www.a2gov.org/departme...

average age of houses in ann arbor

Search Results

Featured snippet from the web

48 years old In Ann Arbor, the average age of housing is 48 year old, and 12% of housing in was constructed after 2000.

@Hongling Lu what brings you to Ann Arbor? Studying at the University? I’m a LS&A grad from 2007.