Newbie to real estate investing. Best way to get started?

15 Replies

My husband and I have been wanting to get into real estate investing for a few years now and don’t know where to start. I am a newer real estate agent and he has a w2 job. We have been able to save 20k this past year for our first deal. We can’t decide if we want to get into rentals or flips. If you were a new investor in our situation where would you begin?

I would focus on what you want long term. Flips can be a good way to make money especially since you won't have to pay a commission out. However rentals can provide good cashflow and build wealth with more flexibility. 

If it was me I would do rentals as I like the monthly cash flow. However a flip could get you in the position to buy a better rental if 20k isn't enough for the market you want to be in. Spend sometime researching both kinds of deals see which one gets you all more excited and maybe that is the way you go.

Hope that helps.

Hey Allie, are you looking to be an agent fulltime? If you flip, would you be doing the work yourself or hiring it out? What does the rental market look like in your area, what are home prices? Do you think you can get a decent return, maybe hit the 1% rule, or have 100-200 cash flow?

I would say a lot of it depends on your personal goals. Are you trying to replace your husband's W-2 income and quit being a real estate agent or are you trying to build your net worth therefore you don't care about getting cash flow right this second?

If you decide to start flipping, understand that it's going to be a full-time commitment. You will need to constantly be on the look out for deals, you will be competing with cash offers, you have to find contractors and manage the renovation process.