Will CRE career be advantageous to becoming an RE investor

6 Replies

Hello all, 

For those who previously worked in commercial real estate (e.g. acquisitions, investment management, etc.) prior to becoming an investor, do you think working in the industry helped you meaningfully in developing the skills and knowledge to becoming a real estate investor? For those that did not previously work in commercial real estate, did you experience any restrictions? I understand with all these resources online that a person of any background can be a real estate investor, but as I begin to consider a career that I want to purse (I am a college freshman), I am wondering if working in CRE will bring significant differentiation if my goal is to become an investor in the future. Please share your thoughts; I truly value all your opinions!

Many thanks, 

Henry

Commercial Real Estate make a whole world of difference. Almost all the formulas on real estate investing is derived from commercial real estate. As a broker starting off with residential real estate. If I was able to turn back time I would have started with commercial real estate first. Here I am today well rounded in many aspects of real estate including development and building. You will eventually investing in CRE if you want to scale your portfolio with multi family, MHP etc. You cant be buying single homes and condos forever.

Originally posted by @Henry Huang :

@Hai Loc appreciate the insight, Hai! I'm guessing any CRE position brings unique skill sets to the table, but are there any roles you think are especially valuable?

If your not a real estate broker I would say real estate appraiser. Maybe a commercial mortgage broker because you underwrite income statements and rent roll of assets. Property Management and Leasing agent has some perks but not much to do in regards to investment analysis..