Keene NH multifamily

15 Replies

Hi there! I am a new investor from Oregon that is looking to invest out of state in multifamily properties. We have family near Keene and I am interested as those multi families are potentially in my price point. I do see high taxes but was curious if there are any other drawbacks to the area. I would be interested in connecting with other investors in the area as well.

@Dan Shanahan hey Dan! I’m a real estate investor and agent in Keene, NH and I also live in the city. You hit the nail on the head with property tax, it’s the highest in the state. Also, the water/sewer rates are quite high as well (really the only other lever the city has to collect revenue from its residents). However, rents are very high and do support the extra expense for the most part (depending on the property of course).

I’d love to chat more if you have any more specific questions regarding the area. Feel free to reach out anytime.

Hi @Dan Shanahan , I am a real estate agent and investor here in Keene. Yes the property taxes are high but when I bought my place I worked it into the numbers and they worked just fine. Basically trading off higher tax rates but for lower selling prices. Also the rental rates are good and seem to still be rising. Feel free to reach out if you'd like to chat or have questions I could help answer. 

@Dan Shanahan as a general rule, high property taxes tend to keep property values lower. We see this a lot in areas like Texas. If taxes were lower (like in CA) prices would likely be much higher.

@David Greene thank you! I recently read your book and it has inspired me to look outside of Oregon when I kept seeing similar issues with cash flow you referenced in markets like CA. Thanks for the book and the work you do on the podcast it’s a gift.