Funding First Airbnb Property

7 Replies

Airbnb

Is it possible or practice to fund an Airbnb property using Hard money lending? If so, what do example terms and process/timeline, loan payback typically look like?

As some of you know, I'm new to the REI business focusing on wholesaling now with the intent on diversifying into buying and holding short term rentals for building an Airbnb portfolio.

Thanks BP

Maybe is my answer. There are instances where it makes sense to use hard money then refi out. If you are buying a fixer upper and getting a bargain on the purchase then this makes sense. (hint)Look for a hard money company that also does refi loans and you can chain one loan into the other. If you are buying a pretty house and paying retail, then banks are a better option.  

@Josh Caldwell Josh, do you think hard money strategy can be employed for securing a multi unit (4 units residential) if secured with a HM lender who will refinance the original loan after a specified period of time? Im imagining there would be a heafty interest rate, deposit of some type and perhaps 1-3 point required. I'm looking to secure a 4-unit property for my first investment property for a short-term rental portfolio.

Your thoughts?

The first question that you need to answer is how profitable is your 4 unit?  What are you expecting the monthly income to look like?  It all revolves around cash in VS cash out. I dont lend in your state, so I am not trying to sell you anything but if I could find a way to buy a cash flow property and have my tenants pay for it, I would be darn interested.