Do you think it’s okay to start a meet up with no experience?

53 Replies

I want to have some meet ups in my area to build connections with local investors, but I don’t have any experience and don’t have the funds for a deal currently. However I hate to sit around doing nothing other than listening to podcasts and reading while saving. I looked for local meets and didn’t find much, so I figured to start my own, but it feels weird to start a meet up when I have no experience or money ready. I think I’ll still try it because you never know what could happen, that being said what’s the best way to find a few local investors or even agents to invite? I just want to take some action and do something productive to starting my investing journey, thanks guys!

Yes, do it! Nobody cares if you've done 0 deals or 100, they just want to talk REI. Chances are some more experienced investors in your hood will hop in and bring even more value. All upside, 0 downside.

Sure! Great Idea! I will call your meetup 'The Blind Leading The Blind'. No joke! Sorry! That is what always happens with almost every meetup with the exception of the only True Blue Meetup called FIBI (For Investors By Investors).

Don't waste your time unless you want to set up a nice booze bar and members bring over some fun partners.

Don't waste your time with the REI and REIA clubs since the presidents are scandalous scum who are snake oil salesmen selling worthless services for thousands of dollars.

Absolutely do it! While you're working on it, figure out how you can bring value to investors you meet who are doing what you WANT to be doing. Then, figure out how you can bring value to them (drive for dollars, help manage a renovation, possibly intern with them); whatever you can offer so they will mentor you on how to get to where they currently are. Maybe you can JV with them on a deal, they bring the money and you bring the labor.....