Do I need a buyers agent ?

8 Replies

I found a property that looks promising and I worked directly with the listing agent. This is a multifamily unit which I’m new to buying. The owner of this property seems to be a seasoned investor. I don’t have a agent in Philadelphia and wanted to know if I should get a buyers agent or can I get a real estate attorney - is there another way for me to get representation.

What are things I should be aware of ?

Hello Rashmi,

I am a licensed real estate agent in NC.  I have not yet bought a multifamily unit, but a family member owns 4 quadplexes in NC, and I have helped manage them.  This is the disclaimer so you don't give my opinion too much weight.

In my opinion, you DO need a buyers agent.  Unless things are vastly different in Philadelphia, when a buyer lets the listing agent "help" them buy, you don't really get someone looking out for your interests.  For example, the listing agent owes loyalty to the seller....if you pop up and want to buy the multi-family unit, who do you think the listing agent will "protect the interests of" most?  The listing agent may be honorable and fair; they may not be, too.  You may never know the difference until years later.

When buying residential real estate (not what you are proposing, but what I have experience with), the seller pays the buyer's agent. (The seller pays the listing agent a %, and the listing agent pays the buyers agent from that % they get. It is spelled out in the MLS--cooperation and compensation.). If the listing agent also represents you, the buyer, they "earn" the full % fee, and may or may not advise you to protect YOUR best interests.

Please call a few realties in the area of the multifamily property and ask to speak to a buyer's agent with experience in helping investors buy a multifamily.   It should not cost you anything, and it could save you much $$ and stress in the long run.

Best to you!