How to navigate high priced markets

7 Replies

Hello investors! I am trying to figure out how those of you investing in high priced markets are able to get into properties that are able to cashflow? 

The current obstacle I am running into is that if I finance a deal, even with a great interest rate and no mortgage insurance, I am not cash flowing. Finding tri-plex and quad-plex in this area that aren't $850k+ is rare and financing that amount would probably leave little room for cashflow anyway. I've been focusing on properties with basement apartments that would offset my mortgage (if I live there) or properties that could use cosmetic updates in great areas. 

I am new to the game. So far I only have my house that I purchased in 2018. Once I get some renos done on that I will have some more capitol... but I just can't figure out how to get going in my market. 

I am in Portland OR for reference.

Thanks all!

Hey @Kayla Carson

I am actually investing in the same area as you and also possibly doing the same strategy.

The way I look at it when it comes to house hacking is whatever the dollar amount that's left after all expenses, if that figure is more than my current cost of living, than I am losing money. If it is less, than I am cash flowing. Any money saved is earned money, hence cashflow.(Specifically house hacking) I can share with you my analysis that I have done and that may give you a better understanding of what I mean. Feel free to msg me anytime. Best of luck !

@alex mora thansk for the reply! Yeah I'd like to see exactly what you mean. I'm considering cash flow as anything I get after all expenses. Currently most of the deals I'm finding listed publicly are not doing that. Ex: found a house with a converted basement apartment. If I house hack that, obviously my mortgage will be off set,  but not eliminated. If I moved out and rented both. I'd barely be breaking even on the mortgage payment.