• Columbus, OH
Votes |
Conventional Loan Minimum Limits

Chris Holloway
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Columbus, OH
Posted Mar 12 2023, 18:35

I have been looking at many properties for my next project "Rental Buy and Hold" and will be doing this project solo financially. My price range with being able to put down a minimum of 25-30 percent is a max of 150,000. I have done some research and the information I am getting is that most banks on fiance a minium of 150,000. Does that seem right? Also if this is right if I purchase a property for 150,000 and but down 25% the loan would be lower than 150,000 and I couldn't get normal conventional fiancing. 

User Stats

Votes
Jon Puente
  • Lender
  • Charlotte, NC
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Charlotte, NC
Replied Mar 12 2023, 18:53

Hey Chris, 

That is completely false, and I am not sure what lenders you have spoken to.  I am a mortgage broker and work with several lenders who will go below 100K for loan amount, using a Conventional Loan.  People do this all the time for rental properties.  Rates wont be great, but at least it gets you in the door for leasing the property and collecting rent!

User Stats

Votes
Chris Holloway
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Columbus, OH
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Columbus, OH
Replied Mar 12 2023, 19:12

Thanks Jon,

This inquiry has had my head going around in circles. Do you have any suggestions for lenders as to where I should look? Local Banks, Big Banks etc.....

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets
PassivePockets will help you find sponsors, evaluate deals, and learn how to invest with confidence.

User Stats

Votes
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Replied Mar 12 2023, 19:56