Where to start on funding cheap properties?

11 Replies

I am new to the game, as in brand new and I do not have a clue where to really start.

I currently own a house that we plan on living in for at least another 15 years or so, but we are very much underwater still, by maybe 40k or so. So borrowing on the equity of my first home is obviously not an option.

I want to buy a cheap house for a long term rental, I plan on holding on to it for a decade or so before considering selling it. When I say cheap, I mean upwards or $50k, but I have many options in the $30-40k area. Naturally these homes will need a little work, mostly cosmetic, but anywhere from $5k to $15k.

So assuming one does not have much cash on hand, but has excellent credit, what are the options out there? How do people with no money get loans to buy and fix up a property? Thank you very much.

Im kind of in the same boat as you. Only have about 10% to put down. People on here told me to check out homepath.com which are basically foreclosures owned by fannie mae. Find a fannie mae lender.

Other options I guess would be private financing either from family or friends?

Its hard to find money for buy and hold properties. Im finding it easier to find money for flips but Im not really in to that.

Homepath.com looks like a promising deal, I wonder if there is a catch since the properties seem to be way below market value?

I don't want to flip houses, at least not yet, and borrowing money from family or friends is not an option in my mind, to much drama involved. Thanks for the info.

Does anyone have any other recommendations?

I don't know about "NO money".....you're going to have to have SOME kind of skin in the game.

I took a part time job to help finance my investing. Why not focus on saving money for the next year and whilst doing so, educate yourself and network as much as possible, especially if you're new to the game.