Mortgage options

13 Replies

I am looking to buy my first real investment property. It is for 125k with estimated 25k in rehab to make the basement into an apartment. I will live on the main floor. Rental of basement will be around 800-1000.

My question is: What is the best type of mortgage? FHA 3.5% down? 5% down? Conventional? 20% down to avoid PMI? I have enough cash to put 20% but I might want cash for future properties also. Thanks so much.
Jesse Lawrence

Jesse,

If you have enough to put 20% down, go conventional. It's cheaper, no MI, and is easier to get closed. Hope that helps. I am a licensed loan officer, let me know if you have any questions.

Theres a lot of different answers to your question depending on what you want to do in the future. If it were me...

If your goal is to continue doing real estate rentals I would put as little down as possible and keep your cash available for future investments.

If you can't afford to pay for your primary residence without the cash from a renter I would go ahead and put the 20% down to get your payments lower so it's easier to get by during vacancy periods.

my 2 cents.

I agree with @Joshua Springer - you're probably better off with a slightly higher monthly payment and cash in the bank than the other way around.

I would suggest 5% down conventional loan. It's been about 2 years since I did the comparison between FHA vs. 5% conventional, but I've seen stuff about FHA getting worse since then and conventional was better when I compared anyway.

With conventional 5% down, after you've completed the basement work or a minimum of one year (whichever is greater), you should be able to get the MIP removed from your payment by paying for an appraisal as long as it comes back showing you've got > 20% equity in the place. If you buy for 125K and put 25K into it and assuming you do a decent job with the remodel, this shouldn't be a problem.

Michael Siekerka