Using hard money the first time

5 Replies

I am new to BP and I am currently looking for my first deal in northern Utah. I am also looking into ways to get the money, so my question: Would you suggest using a hard money lender for my first deal, or only when I have some more experience?

Originally posted by @Tim Hogg :
Would you suggest using a hard money lender for my first deal, or only when I have some more experience?

I'm assuming you're looking to do some rehabbing. How do you plan on purchasing properties if you don't use a HML? You may be able to find a commercial lender or conventional lender that will loan to you, but you need to have enough capital to put ~20% down and cover most/all of the rehab. If funds are tight, then a HML would be the way to go, as they will typically loan rehab costs as well. If you have a great deal to present to them and can convince them you'll get it done, you may not need the experience. The terms probably won't be as favorable as if you have 5+ rehabs under your belt though.

If you don't have the capital available to get traditional funds then HML would be the route to go...just remember you're going to have much shorter terms, higher interest costs and upfront costs added to loan as well. Typically HML for short term carrying for flips etc

@Tim Hogg As long as you have enough spread in the deal to cover your hard money loan costs you should be fine. In my market, I run my numbers with the anticipation that I'll have to pay 2 points and have 6 months of 12% interest only payments. That equates to 8% of purchase price (not ARV). If I can get the loan for less or turn the property around more quickly then I will end up with less hard money costs so that I have a bigger pad to cover other expenses.