New to (commercial) REI - typical to get max loan approval prior?

8 Replies

I'm very new to real estate investing, but there is one thing I wanted to get clarified - is it typical for a person to already have a pre-approved loan for a given amount, before looking more seriously into buying a property?

Specifically, I'm wondering if it makes sense to already have some sort of pre-approval in order to know the max amount a bank will loan me, so I can get a sense of what my upper cap is. Is this typical, or will I look silly if I walked into a bank and asked for this?

Hello @Steven Rogers  ,

Welcome to BP.  Pre-approvals are not really relevant in the commercial arena if you mean 5 units or more multifamily.   Each deal is highly specific to the property as much as the operator.  

The best you can do really is network with lenders or contact a great commercial mortgage broker to get a feel for what the prevailing ltv's for your food group (i.e. office, mixed use, industrial, hotel) are.   Expect  75% for stabilized properties and 60% for non stabilized as a good ball park.  

Avoid large due diligence fee's.

Thank you very much for your answer.

I agree the loans are very specific to the strength of the property - but I also wanted to get a sense of just how big of a loan I could be qualified for (assuming the property is in acceptable condition cash-flow wise). For example, reasoning about how much in assets I must show to get a certain loan amount, etc.

Also, when you say 75% for stabilized properties, 60% for non stabilized - do you mean as in 25% down payment expected vs 40% downpayment? Or something else?

@Steven Rogers  

@Douglas Dowell