Would you work with a lender who was making decisions based on gender?

11 Replies

This conversation could go so many ways, but I'm putting it out there.  I'm working on a deal in New Mexico which is not a popular market so it's been challenging to find a financial partner that makes sense. The deal and numbers are solid, but I've been trying to pin down a private lender for a decision and he's been really flaky (red flag #1). 

This morning I called to follow up and he admitted that he's hesitant because he doesn't like lending to "girls", they cause him headaches apparently (red flag #2-10).  I told him I wasn't a "girl" I was a successful real estate broker and investor who didn't do drama or ********, and that if I was bitchy and whiney he could call me out, and I would call him out if he was bitchy and whiney. Not sure that went over well, but seriously?  You're going to pass on a deal because I'm a girl?

How do you feel about this BP?  Would you work with this guy?

Keywords to get my peeps in on this: Denver Indianapolis

Medium team zen logo vMicki M., 33 Zen Lane | [email protected] | http://www.33zenlane.com | CO Agent # 100037721, NM Agent # 19441

I'm inexperienced, but wouldn't that be discrimination which is illegal and subject to all sorts of laws?

Call him back and tell him loan me money at a low interest rate or get sued! Just kidding.

NO! I'd run the other direction

@Christopher Goldie  You're absolutely right, and believe me it crossed my mind.  Supposedly he's an accredited or verified private lender?  In the end he just jacked up his rates so that it didn't make sense and I graciously declined.  Can't wait to send him some results later this year.

Medium team zen logo vMicki M., 33 Zen Lane | [email protected] | http://www.33zenlane.com | CO Agent # 100037721, NM Agent # 19441

@Micki M.