Which Lender to go with

3 Replies

All,

I'd like some advice as I'm deciding between 2 lenders.  Purchasing a $250k owner occupied duplex, 15% down, offer accepted today.  I have two lenders that have offered some good rates, but this will be my first purchase and I'm new to what closing costs are typical.  Below are the offers:

Option A

3.875 interest rate

Closing Costs:  Total $1076 net closing costs  (could you tell me if they are missing anything?)

-Appraisal Fee $540

-Credit Report $24

Tax Service Fee $53

Flood Zone Determin. Fee $9

Processing Fee: $420

Settlement Agents Fee $200

Lenders Title Insurance Premium and Endosements $250

Recording Charges: $60

Discount from work: $500

Net closing costs $1076

Option B

3.6 rate, but with 1.25% in points

Origination fee                  $475.00

Appraisal                             $450.00 or 600 depending on the property.  450 if normal built house inland or 600 if unusual property or on the water

Credit Rpt                            $21.00

Tax Service Fee                 $56.00

Flood Determination      $10.50

Est. Closing Fee                 $300.00 ** (see below)

Est. Title Fee                      $325.00 ** (see below)

Est. Owners Title              $850.00 **** (see below)

Recording Fee                  $60.00 

$3,087.50

You will also have 1.25% in points. 1.00% because this is a duplex and 0.25% because of credit score/LTV (Loan To Value = loan amount vs purchase price)

The way this works is you take your loan amount x points and that equals a dollar amount, this then get’s added on top of your closing costs and you keep the low rate you lock in at.  212,500 x 1.25% = $2,656.25

If you don’t want/cannot pay that fee, you can roll some or all of it into the rate.  If you locked the rate right now on a 30 year, it would be 3.60% the rate increase for 1.25% in points is 0.35%.  So your new rate would be 3.95% and the $2,656.25 would go away.