Fannie DTI ratio with new rental income

12 Replies

Quick question regarding DTI for a Fannie loan.

As I understand that new rental income (less then 2 years) is calculated as:

Gross rent * 75% - DITI = income added 

What I don't know is whether or not the DITI still counts as a liability.

For example if DITI is 500 and rent is 1000, that nets 250 of income based on the above calculation. Does the $500 still count as a liability or is it completely wiped out?

Hope thatquestion makes sense. Thank you!

I am no pro in this space... but i did just have a conversation with my mortgage broker the other day about this very thing and he was telling me, that once YOU have a proven 2 years of rental income, in tax return form, you can now use any new (or old) rental income to help support your DTI.

I believe your DTI is calculated by adding all your Debt compared to all your income, so NO your debt is not completely wiped out in the calculation. but it will go down as a percentage if you include the new income.

Example Before

Debt $400

Income $4000

%10 DTI

Example After 

Debt now is $1000 a month

Income is now $5000

DTI is now %20 rather that %25 without the new income.

Hope this helps  ( I know it helps me to write this stuff out, I learn much more by writing, than reading) 

@Matt Holmer in your example, you consider the $500/mo debt against the $1000 a month income x .75% and come to the $250. Once you do that, the debt is already considered, so you won't be charged twice for it. 

In the calculation the mortgage is attached to the schedule of real estate, and it will have a net income or net loss to be added to your total debt to income ratio. So basically the mortgage is wiped out and you have $250 per month of income added to your other income sources.

But, like @Joshua D. says, once you have two years, you'll get all of the income shown on your schedule 3 and even get back some of your deductions if you have a good mortgage banker/broker.