1st position

14 Replies

Hi everyone, 

I am refi cashing out 1 property to purchase another 2. I don't qualify for a mortgage yet so after much searching I found a private lender via craigslist who would give me what I think is a decent rate. Anyways, I am putting up most of the money without him (through different strategies), and now he is saying he wants a first position on ALL the properties, the one being refied and the ones I am purchasing.  Just asking bec. this is my first time doing this if that is a normal request or if I should tell him only on the one I am cashing out of?

Thanks in advance!

I would say on the two you are purchasing that is expected, but not the one you are pulling $$$ out of. You say "I am putting up most of the money without him"  so there should be enough equity in the two purchases.  Would be easier with %'s or numbers.  If you were going to put a lien on your existing property that you are pulling money out of I would just to a 2nd lien HE Line for about 4% with a local bank or credit union.

is he also financing the other properties?

Originally posted by @Chris Haas :

I would say on the two you are purchasing that is expected, but not the one you are pulling $$$ out of. You say "I am putting up most of the money without him"  so there should be enough equity in the two purchases.  Would be easier with %'s or numbers.  If you were going to put a lien on your existing property that you are pulling money out of I would just to a 2nd lien HE Line for about 4% with a local bank or credit union.

Numbers are I am pulling out 25k from refi to complete purchases of 2 40k properties. I have the rest of the money (around 65k) available.

He is doing it no doc. and giving 10% and from where I have looked that hasn't been an option.

I still have a month till the closings so I do have time to keep looking.

Thanks for your input!