Private lender deal structure

5 Replies

I am working out a deal with a private lender. Initially she was going to fund my flips using IRA funds and we would split profits 50/50. Now she would like to borrow funds secured from her brokerage account @ 4.75%. Should this interest be figured in my expenses before we split profits or should the loan interest be paid out of her portion of the profits?

I am new to flipping so I want to make sure I structure this deal right from the get go. Any advice would be appreciated!

You would have to talk to her but perhaps she is on!y wanting the 4.74% on her money since her brokerage account is probably less than 1%.

No. She brings the money you bring the well it should be expertise...

Allow me to expand on that answer a bit. There are basically two parts of this partnership, 1) flipping 2) money. The flipping involves everything from finding the property, negotiating the deal, determining what needs to be done to the property, dealing with the renovation planning to include getting it approved by the local authorities, performing the work on the property or finding and supervising the contractors or employees who will do the work on the property, paying all associated bills for the property to include HOA fees, utilities, insurance, and taxes, coordinating all aspects of the rehab which goes beyond just hiring contractors, passing all inspections, staging the property, determining sales price at completions (which may be different than initial ARV projection), staging the property (if desired), finding and supervising the realtor selling the property.

The money- means every dollar spent on the project to include all purchase costs, all rehab costs, all staging costs, and all carry costs.