Cashout Refi vs Home Equity Loan

20 Replies

Hello BP,

I am a beginner investor and I need advice on getting money out of my investment property. 

I am fortunate that my father gifted me a single family house that I currently rent out. This house is currently worth around $150,000. I wish to take out a $100,000 loan against this property and use that money as a down payment for three other houses. 

Now I spoke to a lender and he said he is willing to do a Cash-out Refinance for a fixed rate of 4.5 % for 30 years. However, I have had other people including my father and other bankers tell me that a Home Equity Loan would be better? I was wondering if someone could tell me the big difference the two and what would actually be more beneficial for me. Is it true that with a cash-out refinance that the rate stays locked for full term, while a home equity loan does not? And l I plan to hold on to these properties for at least 10 years or longer, seeing how I am only 23. Also besides a change in rate, would anything change if I decided to live in the house? Thanks in advance.

Assuming you qualify, take the cash out refi. The HELOC has two problems for people thinking long term: (1) the rate is variable and (2) the bank can close the LOC so you can't borrow any more at any point they decide to.
Assuming you qualify, take the cash out refi. The HELOC has two problems for people thinking long term: (1) the rate is variable and (2) the bank can close the LOC so you can't borrow any more at any point they choose. The only advantages (all only beneficial in the short term) I can think of is that the HELOC will be cheaper to originate, will temporarily have lower interest rate (assuming rates rise by >0.5% or so), and you don't have to deal with re-investing the loan proceeds while you're waiting to find a permanent investment.