Foreign Lender (family) would like to private lend for real estate investment in U.S.

4 Replies

What process would a foreign lender have to go through in order to private lend in the U.S.?

Hi Hector,

Please clarify whether the lender wants to start lending to various individuals and this is a general question or whether you're asking what a foreign family member needs to lend money to you in particular.

I'm not an expert in private lending so other BPers can chime in on the former but I believe it is a regulated activity that is best done with legal advice. On the latter, you can consult with your tax accountant and they can advise you how best to structure and declare the loan. The lender should check the laws of their country on lending capital abroad.

how much are wanting to lend? what are the terms? interest? I maybe interested in borrowing 

Private lending is generally a relationship-based business, @Hector Guerra . As a small lender, you almost always want to get to know whom you are lending to and preferably loan locally. This is obviously impossible here in the US if you are overseas, but it doesn't mean there are no alternatives.

There are a number of moderately sized mortgage pools that will accept money from individuals and diversify it over many loans. Here, you not a lienholder on a specific property but essentially own a share, or percent, of the overall pie of mortgages and your return is prorated accordingly. It's not unlike a mutual fund. Your safety comes from knowing and checking out the operator, not the individual borrowers, so due diligence is still important but whom you are qualifying and how you do it is different.