How to get around student loans? Or am I stuck?

5 Replies

Hi BP Forum,

I'm new to real estate and I am hoping to buy an investment property within the next 1-2 years. I am currently a student in graduate school in Southern California studying to be a pharmacist, and I am stuck with deferred student loans where the first payment due is in 6/2018. Here's a quick rundown of my numbers:

Credit score: 729

Annual Income: ~$2600/month

Desired home price: 60-85k

Downpayment: 20-30%

Expected Mortgage Payment: ~$260/month

Monthly debt: $0

Deferred Student Loan debt, starting 6/18: $1550/month for a 10 year plan, $900/month for 30 year plan

My main problem that I have found from calling lenders is explaining my DTI. My student loan company will not give me a monthly quote for a 30 year repayment plan until 60 days from my first due payment, so many of the lenders I have called will only use my 10 year repayment plan as the debt portion of the DTI, and thus I would not qualify for a loan. One lender from Bank of the West told me if the property already has a tenant, they can use the cash flow and add it to my income. Unfortunately, a house worth 60-85k in the area I am looking to invest in will definitely need some rehab work before having a tenant live in it. Another lender told me that I do have potential to be approved, pending an appraiser verifying the house would cash flow based on the rent in the area, but, I did not tell him the part about my loan company not giving me a true quote on a 30 year plan. How can I have them use the 30 year plan? What do you all suggest? Would a written "plan" stating that I would change my repayment plan to 30 years for my student loans be enough for an underwriter? I really hope I'm not stuck in a hole due to student debt. I know that FHA will be changing their guidelines on Sept. 14, so FHA is the same option as a conventional loan now for me.

Any help/suggestions are appreciated. Thanks so much.