Typical Private Lending Rates?

16 Replies

Hi, I'm new to bigger pockets I'm interested in different areas to earn passive income. I was approached by a friend who currently has 4 rental properties and is looking for a fifth however his debt to income ratio is limiting his ability to get another conventional loan.  He's looking for me to be his private lender. He needs $30K - $50K what type of rates do private lenders usually charge? Also, it seems most private lenders get points is this accurate?

Thanks,

Dave  

@David Marzullo

The answer is there's really no answer.  It's whatever you and your friend agree to.  I lend at 13% plus 1 point.  I don't like rentals because it ties up my money for too long.  There's a finance concept called money velocity. In other words how quickly can you deploy your money, have the loan pay out, and put it into another project.  I don't know what your exit strategy will be.  Perhaps your friend will refi the rental and pay you out but the exit strategy is just as important as the terms of the loan.

Good luck

You generally dont see a lot of private lending for rentals, but it happens. 

I pay my guy 2pts and 12% for flips.  I get really good terms, though and the extra expense is worth it.  

If he's asking for rental $, he's probably thinking more bank money rates.  Mid single digits.  Just a guess, of course.  Private lending is pretty much anything you guys agree to.  I'd never tie up my money for 30 years at 5%, though.  Too many other opportunities.  

-D.