Need FHA Loan. Where to begin?

15 Replies

Hello BP I'm in the beginning stages of preparing to buy my first property. My wife and I want to purchase a MFH here in Colorado.

I just figured before I start shopping around for lenders I could check on here to see if I could work with a fellow BP member

I don't have a very long credit history but I'm 100% on time with a score in the 700's. My wife has a shorter credit history with a score in the mid-high 600's but also 100% on time. I'm 23 and she's 21.

I work as a poker dealer(tipped position) in Black Hawk, CO. I've been in school for dealing and actively dealing for 23 months and I'm coming up on my 2nd tax return for it. My wife works in the food industry as a server and she's been doing that for quite awhile. Our gross income is typically around 5k per month with our only debt coming from a car payment of $224.

I'm looking at the Grand Junction, Montrose, Delta, CO areas because they have much more affordable housing with better potential cash flow compared to the Denver area. I'm 100% open to advice and ideas. Thank you all very much for the help!

Contact Colorado State Bank and Trust. Just Google the number for the Denver. I've used them for my last 4 mortgages in Colorado. Get your W2s from last year, and the following from the last 3 months. Bank statements and paystubs. You'll have to prove income, so if you aren't claiming tips you may have a tough time. Standard s for FHA loans are a bit easier. CSBT is really good to work with in my experience. Good luck.