Under 100k loan..Portfolio lenders in Georgia?

16 Replies

I've got a house under contract for under 100k and just found out that i can't get a conventional loan under that, so i'd have to use a FHA loan. I was planning on fixing the house up with my own money and then renting it, but i really don't want to be stuck living there for 2 years with FHA.. If i were to find a portfolio lender would they be able to help in this situation? My other idea was to try for the Homestyle loan at 100k to qualify for conventional financing and have the money to repair, but i dont know how easy that process is. Please message me or comment with any helpful information, as this is my first purchase, so i'm new to this all.

Yes, a hard money lender may be what you need here but this is a more expensive alternative. Because of the cost, HM is better for short term financing (let's say 6 months).

Some have longer repayment terms. No prepayment penalty is something you need to make sure of.

Now, remember that most HML do 65/70% of ARV. So, if you're paying $90k, your ARV needs to be $140k or better.

Good luck!

Alec,

May I ask the reason why you can't get a Conventional loan? If it's due to "loan size" I can help as we do smaller loans than most banks/lenders out there. If the property needs a lot of work you may want to investigate a Conventional Renovation loan but if it's in good shape we may be able to help.

Please PM me if you want to talk further.

Tod