How Difficult (And Smart) To Start A HML Fund--Am I Nuts?

35 Replies

I have been doing HML for a few years. Really enjoy it and the returns have been pretty good. Am I crazy for wanting to start a private fund for HML? I really don't know anything about it except it requires SEC paperwork, etc. Saw another poster on BP just state they are moving forward with their fund but are buying low end properties in the Midwest. I don't think I want to pursue that model. I want to be a paper-boy:)...and reap the rewards. Anyone started or worked for a fund? Is the field too saturated? Last but not least, if we have a total meltdown, I do fear a fund could get wiped out. Thoughts?

Originally posted by @Charlie Fitzgerald :

Broker to an established lender in the space...less headache...less risk...more consistent income...pm me for more details if you like.

Out of curiosity, if one was to broker to an established lender, what prevents established lender from stealing clients?

Promotion
Roofstock
Buy & sell single-family rentals online
Radically accessible real estate investing
Get access to exclusive property listings, proprietary data, and support to build your portfolio.
Learn More

You are one of the good guys.  I was a mortgage broker for a short time years ago, I would submit a loan to Countrywide's wholesale department only to have my client tell me they got a call from Countrywide's retail department with a lower rate that I couldn't possible meet let along beat.  Frustrating to say the least.  Finding a broker with integrity is like trying to find a 'good' realtor, or a 'good' attorney, or a 'good' CPA ... easier said than done.  I guess it's like any other relationship, you keep looking until you find an honest person.

Originally posted by @John Thedford :

I would probably take everything through a licensed lender..just do the funding. Too expensive?

You'll run out of money using only your funds, assuming you do a sizeable scale.