What is the proper documentation for private funding for a flip?

7 Replies

I will be purchasing my 4th flip and for this project it's my first time borrowing funding. Purchase price is $150k of which I'll be borrowing $100k from a friends family member. What is the best legal agreement in this case that covers both parties interests?

Secondarily, looking for advise how to properly handle the form a tax perspective? I want to make sure that I have what I need to write off the interest expense.

Thanks in advance!

I was just looking through the fileplace on BP and can't find what I need, either. I'm looking for a contract/agreement/promissory note that doesn't involve the private lender being on the deed of trust. They'd lend my company the money, unsecured, and we would go purchase the property. Obviously, I can only do this with close friends and family that trust me. The term would be 6-9 months, interest only payments paid monthly, principal repaid upon project completion (not at the closing table). Even though it would be unsecured, I'd still like to list the property in the contract, and possibly have an addendum that summarizes the project. 

I thought I'd check to see if anyone had something similar to this, before I have my attorney draft one up. Also, if anyone has any advice on certain clauses to include, that'd be great. 

@Sam Grooms it's not as simple as certain clauses to include, I would hire an attorney. It might run you $2K to draft a comprehensive agreement but then it takes out a lot of the concerns/issues. It also depends on the state you're in. 

@Kevin Stalbaum the best for all parties would be a security instrument (mortgage, deed of trust, etc -- depends on your state) and a note. Mortgage can be 1-2 pages and the same with the note. 

Originally posted by @Sam Grooms :

@George Despotopoulos, thanks. I was only asking about clauses to include if I have my attorney draft it.