Recommendations for lenders for conventional loan & low down pymt

12 Replies

What's up BP community? I've got a buddy trying to post a question on this forum, but he's having trouble getting his account set up for some reason. Being the good friend I am, I told him I'd post his question. So without further ado, here it is verbatim:

"I am new to real estate investing and my plan is to buy a duplex to live in one of the units and also rent my current house. I am preapproved for an fha loan with 3.5% down but many of the sellers in Kansas City do not want to sell to fha loan buyers. My bank does not have Conventional loans with low down payments of 3% or 5%. Does anyone know of any lenders that have a low downpayment Conventional loans of 3 to 5%? I will also take any creative ideas that you have to get a new investor started."

Thanks all! 

I’m also in the exact same situation. Except I don’t own a home already. I’m currently renting, by March 6th of 2018 (when my current lease ends) I’d like to purchase a fourplex with 15-20 grand to use. It will be my first investment in real estate. I was going to go around Portland tomorrow and talk to some banks to see if they, or any banks they know, can do a low interest conventional loan.

Good morning ShaneX2!

Shane Short, you're off to a great start! I'm an agent here in Portland and I bought my first couple rentals using FHA and VA low-down loans. It's a good strategy to get going. I'd save your time going to random banks (unless you have an "in" or referral.) send me a PM and I'll give you the names of lenders I've personnaly used who will help make your loan process a breeze!