Looking for loan for my situation

5 Replies

Hello, everyone. Does anyone know of a way I could get a loan that has a  reasonable interest rate for a rental property, being that my income is low, but I have cash in reserves plus properties? Thanks!

I am looking to acquire another rental property and would like funding. I could buy a lower-cost property using cash, but I would like to see if I could somehow get a loan with my low income. I currently have three rentals plus the condo in which I live. I am currently an unemployed teacher, and my income right now comes from unemployment plus rentals. I live in so Cal and am looking anywhere in the country for a deal. I looked into loans a few years ago, and the ones I could get had higher interest rates, and therefore I wouldn't be cash flowing on a property. Advice/tips appreciated!

At this point,  you most likely wont qualify with just the unemployment. The requirement for lending is that you have income that will continue for 3 years into the future. It would have to be document-able that your unemployment could continue at the same rates as now for the next 3 years in order to count it as income.  

Your existing rentals would count as income and the standard method through Fannie Mae is your rents X 75% minus your PITI. If its a positive number, it then is counted as income. If its a negative number it counts as debts.

Most rentals are close to debt neutral or show a slight income. If your debt ratio is 50% or less and comes from acceptable sources that can be counted, then buying the new rental should also keep your debt ratio close to the same.