Loan for 15% cap 4-unit. No W2 or tax return (student in 16')

3 Replies

How could I get a loan in this situation? I'm a first year commercial real estate agent so I'm 100% commission. I found a perfect first deal for my self that I put under contract. It's a cash-flowing, 15% cap, 4-unit property. Everyone I spoke with said I'll need at least w-2, last year tax return, or pay stubs. Since its my first year and I'm 1099 I don't have any of those. It's a good deal though, are there any lenders that just look at the numbers and my credit/income of THIS year.

Do I have to wait to file my 2017 taxes? Or is there another route I could go? I'm under the impression by February/March I can get a traditional mortgage based off my income from my 2017 return. How can I hold off until then without losing the deal?

Sounds like you may want to go the private money route. Since you're a CRE agent (doing investment sales?) I'm sure you know how to put together an offering memorandum. If I were you I'd put one together and go network at local RE events or with any family friends that have money. Don't shove it down their throat, but after establishing a connection let them know you're looking for private money to finance a deal. As they say, if the deal is good enough, the money will come.

Originally posted by @Gabe Sirkin :

How could I get a loan in this situation? I'm a first year commercial real estate agent so I'm 100% commission. I found a perfect first deal for my self that I put under contract. It's a cash-flowing, 15% cap, 4-unit property. Everyone I spoke with said I'll need at least w-2, last year tax return, or pay stubs. Since its my first year and I'm 1099 I don't have any of those. It's a good deal though, are there any lenders that just look at the numbers and my credit/income of THIS year.