Realtor, do I need 2 years of tax returns to qualify?

13 Replies

Hi everyone, 

I am an agent and would like to buy my first home, (the irony, I know) I've done quite well my first year in the business, however I want to know if it is possible to qualify after only 1 year of tax returns? Again I'm commission only, but I recently heard that FreddieMac/AnnieMac changed their lending guidelines for self-employed and that 1 year could also be sufficient. 

If this is true, any reccomendations lenders? 

Please advise!

1 year tax return, but I think you have to show the business is 5 years old. @Chris Mason might chime in.

question is for mortgage lender... but there are loans for one year tax returns great credit and some cash in bank

@Roxanne Lembke As @Russell Brazil mentioned, you can use 1 yr of tax return, but you have to show that the business has been in existence for 5+ yrs. You saying it will not suffice. You will have to provide personal and/or business tax returns as proof.

You can buy with just 1 yr of tax return using a portfolio loan, and then once you have established 2 yrs of income, you can refi into a conventional loan.

Ok, so the company/brokerage I work for has been in business that long, but as a Realtor I have only been in the business 1 year. It sounds like I would still need 2 year of tax returns?

Originally posted by @Roxanne Lembke :

Ok, so the company/brokerage I work for has been in business that long, but as a Realtor I have only been in the business 1 year. It sounds like I would still need 2 year of tax returns?

Correct. Being that you are independent/self-employed, you need to be in business for 2 yrs (2 tax returns). This is for conventional loans.

@Upen Patel  

I have a portfolio loan that is collateral on 18 properties.  I have more than 2 years of tax return, good credit scores, meet income debt ratio.  Will I still be qualify for a conventional loan?  One portfolio loan collateral on 18 properties. 

Thank you