Vetting a Private Lender

9 Replies

Good Morning,

What are the ways to vet a private lender?  I put a posting in the marketplace and have had a number of private lenders contact me.  Some have more information available online than others and I'm wondering in what ways can I authenticate or vet a private lender.

One who approached me via email has scant information available online but quickly offered to fund my deal at what I thought was a very low interest rate. Something about it feels too good to be true.

Any thoughts on how to do background on a private lender?

Hello:

Personally, I think it's better to network with the lenders/borrowers BEFORE there is a deal.  Meet them at meetings/lunch/coffee; discuss deals; get to know them.

Bob

Hi @Bob Razler ,

Good advice. I'm just starting out so getting to know the right order of doing things as I go.  I'm located remotely so networking face to face is not an option at this stage unfortunately.

Hello @Josh Stack :  

I am just starting too.  I have done some lending and I am learning along with you!

Feel free to drop me a line.  I would be happy to chat about what I have learned so far!

Bob

you will find that most that answer you on BP marketplace are just due diligence pump and dump schemers offer rates too good to be true ( BIG RED FLAG) suck you into 500 bucks or so sent to them and never hear from them again.

Private lenders do not advertise generally speaking.. you want a HML.. they advertise are for real and you can trust them to fund if you have a for real deal.

Originally posted by @Jay Hinrichs :

you will find that most that answer you on BP marketplace are just due diligence pump and dump schemers offer rates too good to be true ( BIG RED FLAG) suck you into 500 bucks or so sent to them and never hear from them again.

Private lenders do not advertise generally speaking.. you want a HML.. they advertise are for real and you can trust them to fund if you have a for real deal.