Loan Questions

6 Replies

Ive never had a loan before so Im not up to par with the loan aspects. Ive been reading a lot of books I have a degree in real estate and finance so I understand a lot of the aspects but loans confuse me a little..
I have a 750 credit score and basically ant to go no document because i get paid under the table on a job and just started another. Every loan officer I talk to gives me an opposite of the one before.

there is a house that previously sold for 115 about 4 years ago, its now for sale for 74K, Im going to try and pick it up for 65K but I want the loan for about 85K.I intend to rehab and land contract it for a year or 2 until they have credit for their own loan.

1. Is this generally possible on a loan on a after repairs basis?
2. Would this generally be a 80-20 loan
3. Could I refinance down to a single loan after repairs since ill have more than 20% equity?
4. Do I have to hold a loan a certain period of time to refinance?
5. Do most all lenders charge a fee for paying off a loan early?

Thanks for all advice in advance

Hello Serv40,

In answer to your questions:
1) Generally on a deal like that you need to have the
money for the 20% down, and use that to fix the
place. You've already found this place, but for the next
one, be looking for a deal where the fixing up is limited
to painting and cleaning.

2) Yes.

3) Yes. Although you should try to have the 20% in the first place.

4) Depends on how the loan was written. Negotiate that when you
are taking out the loan.

5) Not all lenders charge a fee. It really varies from lender to lender.

*Commercial* Here is where a loan broker earns her or his money. Put
a residential broker to work for you looking for the kind of loan you
want. Yes, there is a loan origination fee, but think about this: there is
a loan origination fee even if you waltz yourself into a bank and talk to
the loan officer there. And they don't do anything but sit there
and look at you!