Is my private lender legittimate

8 Replies

I am new to the investment side but have been rehabing for ten years. I have my money tied up in a purchase that I have been in too long due to my appendix and needed time to recover when it ruptured.

Now back and fully recoved from the 3 surgeries. I am faced with bad credit . My best option may be private lenders but as a short test of the water revieled , those sources can be sketchy and a real trap for the newbies like myself. 

I am hoping for a source for vetting or otherwise determining if a private lender is legitimate.

Thanks for being available for this big step

Richard Murray

Originally posted by @Richard Murray :

I am new to the investment side but have been rehabing for ten years. I have my money tied up in a purchase that I have been in too long due to my appendix and needed time to recover when it ruptured.

Now back and fully recoved from the 3 surgeries. I am faced with bad credit . My best option may be private lenders but as a short test of the water revieled , those sources can be sketchy and a real trap for the newbies like myself. 

I am hoping for a source for vetting or otherwise determining if a private lender is legitimate.

Richard Murray

Sounds like you are meaning Hard Money Lender. Some are good, some are bad, all are expensive. Think in terms of 65% to 75% LTV, high points, high interest and if you miss a payment foreclosure. A Private Lender (They way I use the term) is a dentist, doctor or businessman that will lend from their pension account. Huge difference in costs and tolerance. I'd shy away from Hard Money Lenders and look for someone who has a pension, 401(k) or IRA that wants to make a good return. Hard Money is last resort IMHO.

A private lender is a person and you vet in person by assessing your relationship with them and common friendships.  Maybe check them out on social media (i.e. Facebook, LinkedIn, etc).