Points on a Loan? Yay or Nay

8 Replies

Hi Everyone, Newbie here...

I've always been told "Never pay points on your loan!"

But is there ever a time where it would make sense to pay a point or 2 on a loan as an investor? Is this the market to possibly be paying a point to get a lower rate on investments since rates are going up? Not thinking flips just Buy and Hold.

Thank you for the kind words of wisdom :-)

I am usually opposed to it. There is really so much that can change. You could sell or refinance and it could make it a lot harder of a choice if you paid a couple grand in buying down a loan. I would keep that cash for reserves. I have a House right now that I am refinancing for the 3rd time. I plan 100% to own it for a long long time. There have just been times for me to reposition and take money out.

I always like having options. Paying points usually makes it harder to change those options.

@Allyson Edwards The best way to solve this is to get out a spreadsheet and run some calculations. If you have to pay 1-2 points but can get a .25% lower interest rate, it could very possibly make sense in the long run.

Alternatively, if you're thinking of a non-conventional lending option like a Hard Money loan, you will almost always have to pay points. But if it is your only option to capital, it might be worth it.

Bottom line I'd say is that there is no right/wrong answer - it's all about how the numbers come out and if you can get an ROI acceptable for your standards.

Depends on how long you keep the loan.  There's a break even point which can be calculated.  As I recall it's somewhere around 7 years.  Beyond that point you start saving money.

Originally posted by @Allyson Edwards :

But is there ever a time where it would make sense to pay a point or 2 on a loan as an investor? Is this the market to possibly be paying a point to get a lower rate on investments since rates are going up? Not thinking flips just Buy and Hold.