Financing a Currently Leased Property

17 Replies

I am looking to acquire my first property. My personal finances look to qualify me for around $125k. I have about $7k to work with for a down payment. I live in Kansas City, MO and am looking to buy in the area as I would be occupying the property. 

My question is if there are tenants in place in say a four unit, will the loan officer take the rental income into consideration when deciding how much I qualify for? What about potential rental income? Maybe there's a four unit with 2 tenants in place, could I qualify for more than $125k? I'm seeing a few properties in my area that are just out of my price range personally, but when considering the rental income, the math works out. Could I qualify for closer to $200K with the rental income included? 

I've only started working with my local bank and credit unions. Would a portfolio lender be a better option? 

Any advice is appreciated. 

First, I'm a broker, not a lender, and I could be wrong, or just lying, but here is my understanding of an FHA multifamily owner-occupied.

You can apply 75% of current rental income to your income to qualify for an FHA loan, but lenders can have different overlays that will affect this number. I would recommend finding a lender who is experienced with FHA multifamily owner-occupied. Good luck.

Originally posted by @Derek Hammond :

I am looking to acquire my first property. My personal finances look to qualify me for around $125k. I have about $7k to work with for a down payment. I live in Kansas City, MO and am looking to buy in the area as I would be occupying the property.