Getting Creative With FHA Loans

15 Replies

I have a great SFR deal lined up that would be perfect and generate some good cash flow down the road.

That said, I need the minimal down payment offered through an FHA loan to make this work and some of the FHA qualifications I can't meet. Specifically, the 2 year employment history. I'm a student so my full time employment has been subject to my class scheduling and my part time income isn't enough to meet the required income for the house.

The deal is GOOD. Good enough that I lined up two investors to handle the DP, some of the fix up costs, and pay part of my rent for the first few months.

With the 2 investor's huge cash backing, is there any way around the employment history while still keeping the FHA loan in my name?

Thanks!

Short Answer = I don't believe so.

Your JV Partners (or investors) are just that, non owner occupants. You being the owner occupant, will be accountable for all FHA qualifications. Forming an LLC or entity with your investors WON'T fix this issue either. Banks WON'T lend to LLC for FHA and most conventional loans.

I see no way for you to do this with FHA financing ....

If the deal is that great, and you want to try and make at least some $$$ on it, why not try wholesaling it to an investor?

Promotion
Apartments.com
List, Screen, Lease, Get Paid, Manage.
No Better Place to Lease Your Place
Owners rely on the #1 rental site to get the best results from their rental properties.
Get Started Now
Originally posted by Bryan Hancock:
Can you get a cosigner? That may help on FHA...not sure.

Bryan ... wouldn't the cosigner have to be an OO as well though?

I remember doing my FHA loan about 7 months ago, and they asked if my fiance would be living in the property with me.

I'm not sure...that would be a good question for a broker. I would assume that they are worried about income stability so a cosigner would trump this requirement, but I don't know the rules.

Anyone?