Getting started in private money lending

30 Replies

I've been investing in real estate for over 20 years, mostly buy and hold condos and a few flips. I've been saving money to buy a multifamily property but it's been two years, a few close calls but I have not been able to find a property with a decent return. I have about 300k in cash sitting around that I was planning to use for my down payment and I was thinking of using those funds to provide private money to flippers. I don't have any hard money lending experience and I never used a hard money lender. However, I have a banking finance background and I don't think the underwriting for HML is complicated. I don't think 300k is enough to fund multiple project in the area I live so I was thinking of perhaps starting to get into this business by providing funding to flippers for the down payment normally required by HMLs. This is very risky as HMLs do not like 2nd liens to be put on the property.

Wanted feedback from the you guys on what's the best way to secure my investment and if any of you have done this what advice can you provide?

Thanks.

@Tito Burgos in our market 300k can easily buy 5 decent homes. Your money will go far in other markets and there is a high demand for money to borrow. The key is not only have the security in place like the note, mortgage and personal guarantee but the biggest risk is who you are lending to. I would prefer to lend at a slightly lower rate to an experienced and successful flipper with strong financials verses someone who just started out in real estate.

@Alex Deacon I would need to partner up with someone outside my area.  I need to be able to drive to the property and in my area the purchase price alone for a property could be 200k or more.   With 300k I might be able to fund one deal and that's putting all my money into that deal.  

what you talking abut has been coined these days as " gap funding" and many of the fix and flip guru's preach it.