Getting a loan for first property

17 Replies

I am new to BP and really want to start investing in rental property. I have went to local banks and have spoken to loan officers about buying SFH or duplex. They are only offering a commercial loan 3/15 year balloon at not a great interest rates (6-6.75%). The market I am looking at is in S. Illinois since this is where I live. Is it possible to get a more traditional loan with fixed interest for 20-30 years? It is really hard to make the numbers work when looking at a property unless it is an absolute steal and still cash flow. Thanks in advance.

@Brian Bertschi welcome to BP!  Sounds like you are talking to the wrong people.  Avoid your local banks unless you don't qualify for Conventional financing.  Assuming your credit is good, you have the required down payment, you income qualify, etc, for an investment property the rates should be in the low-to-mid 5's for a 30 year fixed for a 1-4 unit residential property.  The rate is lower if you will be living in one of the units.

Hope that helps, best of luck!

@Brian Bertschi I see this is your fist post so welcome to BP.

First 6-7% is not bad historically. Next you are right it is hard to  make the numbers work. That is true everywhere. Most properties simply do not make good investments and will not cash flow. You have to look at LOTS of deals and the right kind of deals to find a good investment. 

Yes you can get longer amortization and  maybe better rates. You need to find the right lenders. Local community banks are going to tend to be the best. A mortgage broker that has many option to choose from my help also. Talk to local investors and see who they are using.