203 (k) loans. Anybody?

11 Replies

I am a newbie and I have been doing some extensive reading on Real Estate. I have alot more respect for RE bceause there is so much to learn.

I came across an article about 203 (k) loans. Has anyone every done this type of loan? Do you know of anyone that has used it?

http://www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/sfh/203k/203kmenu.cfm

I just found this great house and I would love to purchase the house. The house needs a great deal of work but I am certain the house is a gold mine. The comps in the neighborhood are very encouraging but the only question is would the 203 (k) be the way to go. Has anyone every beeen an "owner-occupant" of a home while trying to flip it. I can't remember where I read this but I saw an ad about tax breaks to those that live in the house for atleast 24 motnhs-while the house is under construction

Would this be a good way to flip a home?

GA,

be careful buying HUD homes and using gov't loans like the 203k

there are different restrictions and they carry MAJOR FINES if you violate them - even by mistake.

you can't be an owner-occupant and "flip" a property. i presume that you're using the term "flip" to mean rehab and sell ["flip" used in its correct/original way means assigning aka never owning the actual property just the contract].

what i mean is, if you want to rehab and sell a property as an owner-occupant using a 203k - you must live in the property for over one year at least (i think). and you must live there.

if you decide to have your mail forwarded there and have someone rent it from you, like a relative or whatever - you are violating the rules [NOT RECOMMENDED].