Private Lending in Washington State

5 Replies

Can I lend to a customer who wants to remodel their primary residence using their primary residence AND adjacent property as collateral? They have a first mortgage (FHA) with very little equity and own the second piece of raw land without lein. They have sufficient income but their credit is questionable? What will be my legal hurdles?

@Kitty Jones

Yes but you will be in a second position on the primary residence.  No legal hurdles I am aware of for a small private lender (no underwriting standards for YOUR risk tolerance) but I am not a lawyer and speaking only to my experience.  What you will need to do is...

*  Determine your own risk tolerance,

*  Negotiate note terms,

*  Draft a promissory note detailing the terms, and 

*  Record a trust deed for the collateral properties.  

I'd start working with a title company to help you through the process for recording and seek a lawyer to draft the promissory note.  

Consider this.  If the lendee doesn't perform according to your contract, your recourse would typically be foreclosure.  But your payoff would typically come from foreclosure sale proceeds after the first mortgagee is paid off, along with all fees, penalties, etc.  If the additional foreclosure value of the raw land would cover your interest, perhaps this provides sufficient surety for your comfort.  If there is not enough value to cover your interest after the primary loan, fees, etc. are paid, there may be little benefit in foreclosure.  You don't seem the type to threaten broken kneecaps as a fallback.  (And there definitely is a legal obstacle for that plan.)