Private Money Pitch and Loan Structure

1 Reply

Hi All!

I plan to purchase a flip within the next few months. As I am just starting out in real estate (I own a duplex) I don't have the money to fund a deal in cash so I plan finance with a combination of private money ~30% and hard money ~70% or conventional depending on the property.

My long term strategy is a buy and hold for cash flow with some flips mixed in to fund Multi Units with the goal of leaving my job within 5 years. I've been broadcasting to anyone who will listen what my plan is and have garnered significant interest from friends/acquaintances /family who want to invest with me. I want to put together a package/pitch deck to send to these potential investors. Having the details written up will hopefully give the on the fence investors the confidence they need to move forward.

Does anyone have a template for structuring a private money deal that they would be willing to share? 

@Jon Graves personally, i wouldn't start out with friends and family in an investment deal, especially if you're new to it. sounds like a recipe for potentially ruined relationships to me, but that's your call entirely. If you choose to proceed this way, i would encourage you to set up an entity with these individuals to make sure it's all documented and ownership percentages are clearly stated. you dont want anyone to feel screwed in the end. Also consider who gets to call the shots. if you want to sell and the rest of your "team" doesnt... who wins that battle? Keep it simple while you're starting out and learning -- Just my 2-cents on this.