12 Replies

Hi I am looking for some advice, heres my situation:

$82k Mortgage

8 years left

3.75%

$1000 P & I payment

Personal Assets:

$180k liquid cash ready to deploy into real estate

I live in Northern California and so far have not had any luck deploying my funds into real estate here (really hot market, seems overpriced, my offers are constantly beat out). I am contemplating paying off my mortgage to free up my monthly income but I am afraid I am leaving returns behind by not instead placing the money in a deal(s).

In addition, I am contemplating investing the money into cash flowing properties outside of California but I have no experience in this.

I guess the question is, can I invest the 82k in real estate instead and achieve a net monthly cash flow of $1000?

Any advice/thoughts is appreciated!

Thanks

Roman

Short answer: No, keep paying your monthly mortgage payment. and invest your $82k in another property

I am not familiar with your specific real estate market. So I don't know what type of property you can buy with the $82k as a down payment. In Chicago, that $82k could get you a fourplex in some parts of the city. Maybe not so in Northern California. 

Since your mortgage is at such a low rate (3.75%), there isn't much of an interest savings to paying of the loan early. 

@Roman Kozlov   If you pay off your mortgage, your debt load will go down; but if your debt ratio is good, I'd use that money to buy a rental instead.  The $180K you have is could either buy a rental free and clear or be used as a down payment on a house (or multifamily).  Talk to your bank to see how much they will lend you and go from there.

better keep the mortgage and invest the cash into real estate. 

you can probably yield between 7 and 9% out of state. Since your bank is only charging you 3.75 the  you get a nice cash on cash return. Besides it's harder to get a mortgage on investment property and rate is higher.